Many states, including Georgia, have implemented programs to ensure that the roadways are safe to drive on. Most of these programs are geared towards making sure that teenage drivers have all of the tools they need to be as safe as possible before they get behind a wheel.
Statistics reported by the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety states that drivers between the ages of 15 to 20 years of age accounted for 8.5% percent of the total 6.6 million licensed drivers in the state of Georgia. It is further reported that 12.8% percent of all drivers involved in Georgia automobile accidents, 9.5% percent of all drivers killed in accidents, and 17% percent of drivers injured in accidents were young drivers age 15 to 20 years of age.
The numbers provided by the GOHS show the high percentage of accidents, injuries and deaths caused by such a low percentage of drivers. Furthermore, with traffic related deaths caused by young drivers rising by 8% percent in 2012 it is important to look at ways to lower these tragic statistics. Georgia has implemented the Teenage and Adult Driver responsibility Act (TADRA), a graduated driver’s license program for drivers ages 15 to 18. This program changes the way young motorists earn and maintain the privilege of driving by providing a controlled means for new drivers to gain experience. TADRA involves a three step process with specific requirements which have to be met prior to progressing to the final step, a full license. Even if all requirements are completed, a candidate for a full license cannot have been convicted for a DUI, Eluding a police officer, Drag racing, Reckless driving, Hit and run, or any other violation that assesses four or more points on the driver’s license during the previous twelve months. (TADRA)
A major requirement of TADRA incorporates Joshua’s Law which was also enacted to address this issue of safety in teen driving. Joshua’s Law states that all 16 year old drivers applying for a Class D driver’s license must complete an approved driver education course. They must also complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, and obtain a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Georgia residents who have not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver’s license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. (Joshua’s Law)
Despite all the legislation enacted to curtail the impact of young and inexperienced driver’s on our roadways, motorist are injured everyday by one of these inexperienced drivers. If you would like further information regarding teenage or inexperienced drivers, or if you or a loved one have been injured by a teen driver call Douglasville Personal Injury Attorneys today for a free case evaluation.